Advancements and Awards

In addition to the advancement awards and the Academics and sports Belt Loops and Pins, Cub Scouts may earn other individual awards.

Cub Scout Outdoor Activity Award

OutdoorActivityAwardTiger Cubs, Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts, and Webelos Scouts may earn the Cub Scout Outdoor Activity Award. This award recognizes Scouts for participating in outdoor activities and conservation projects. This award is often times achieved while participating in other summer Scouting activities.

Download (PDF, 124KB)

Religious Emblems

knotreligiousawardyouthMany religious groups have programs for Scouts to earn a religious emblem to encourage them to grow stronger in their faith; The Boy Scouts of America approves of these programs and allows the religious knot to be worn on the official uniform.

For a list of religious programs, and a list of awards provided by each faith or religious group, see the Religious Emblems Programs page.

Cub Scout World Conservation Award

worldconWebelos Scouts can earn the Cub Scout World Conservation Award by earning the Forester, Naturalist, and Outdoorsman activity badges and taking part in a den or pack conservation project.

Cub Scouting’s Outdoor Ethics Awareness and Action Awards

OutdoorEthicsCub Scouts and their leaders interested in learning more about outdoor ethics and Leave No Trace should begin by exploring the Outdoor Ethics Awareness Award.

OutdoorEthicsActionAwardThe Outdoor Ethics Action Award challenges Scouts to take affirmative steps to improve their outdoor skills.

Emergency Preparedness Award

EmergencyprepawardEmergency Preparedness means being ready for all kinds of emergencies. The Emergency Preparedness Award program prepares Scouts to be ready and able to help in times of trouble; to save lives, property and to help a community or nation recover after a disaster happens. To encourage Scouts of all ages to be prepared for emergencies, the BSA has approved an Emergency Preparedness Award program for members of all ages. To learn more about the award requirements and to download an application form, visit the Emergency Preparedness Award page on the BSA website.

Three Fires Council Reading Program

ReadingProgramThe Three Fires Council Reading Program is a year-round program to promote reading. Reading dates are from September 1 – August 31st. This is a Council wide award program to recognize Scouts and their families for spending time reading. The reader keeps a log of reading time. For every 500 minutes of reading time, they earn recognition.

Download (PDF, 100KB)

Three Fires Council Get Up & Goal Program

GetUpThe Get Up & Goal Program was developed to teach Scouts how to set goals for themselves while encouraging a healthy lifestyle. Scouts will learn how to set short, intermediate and long-term goals while being motivated to get up, and get fit.

Download (PDF, 141KB)

Recruiter Strip

RecruiterThe Recruiter Strip is awarded to Scouts for recognition of recruiting a friend into Scouting.

Fun with the Family Award

BSAFamily001The Fun with the Family Award program includes a series of activities designed to help strengthen families. This program was designed to help families accomplish worthy goals while building and strengthening relationships among family members. All family members are encouraged to participate and may earn the award.

The BSA Family Activity Book (available at your local TFC Scout Store) provides all the requirements as well as step-by-step instructions for earning the BSA Family Award. When a family has completed these requirements, they are eligible to receive an award certificate, patches for uniform wear, and/or pins for non-uniform wear.

The NOVA Award Program

NOVA-clipartThe NOVA Awards program incorporates learning with cool activities and exposure to Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) for Cub Scouts. The hope is that the requirements and activities for earning these awards stimulates interest in STEM-related fields and shows how science, technology, engineering and mathematics apply to everyday living and the world around them.

The NOVA Awards

piThere are four Nova awards for Cub Scouts. Each award covers one component of STEM—science, technology, engineering, or mathematics.

  • Science Everywhere
  • Tech Talk
  • Swing!
  • 1-2-3 Go!

For their first Nova award, Scouts earn the distinctive Nova award patch. After that, Scouts can earn three more Nova awards, each one recognized with a separate pi (π) pin-on device that attaches to the patch. The patch and the three devices represent each of the four STEM topics—science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

The Supernova Awards

medalThe Supernova awards have more rigorous requirements than the Nova awards. The requirements and activities were designed to motivate youth and recognize more in-depth, advanced achievement in STEM-related activities.

For Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts: Dr. Louis Alvarez Supernova Award
For Webelos Scouts: Dr. Charles H. Townes Supernova Award

For earning the Supernova award, Scouts receive a medal and certificate.

All requirements may be found in the Nova awards guidebooks, available through local Scout shops—The requirements can be completed with a parent or an adult leader as the counselor (for the Nova awards) or mentor (for the Supernova awards). Each guidebook includes a section for the counselor and mentor.

Oswego, Illinois